Reaching Hand distributes bus passes to under-privileged students at K R Puram School, Karnataka

Shivraj wanted to explain to them about the financial struggle, he had to undergo everyday while going to the school.

Case study taken by Vinod and Deepa Patel

shivraj-krpuram-copy

A school boy waved to his friends inside the KR Puram School as he passed by. He was in a rush to get back to his class. But, on the way, when he came across Reaching Hand team, he wanted to spend a few moments to talk to them.

He introduced himself as Shivraj and is a 9th standard student at the KR Puram Government School.

He wanted to explain to them about the financial struggle, he had to undergo everyday while going to the school. This is one of the major reasons which is keeping many students out of school.

Shivraj lives with his mother, father, two brothers and one sister. He explained that conditions are difficult at his home.

“My parents do mason work on construction sites. As I often see them struggling to send me to school and take care of my siblings, I decided to walk to school.

His house is far away from the school. “I come every day from Battahalli. It takes a minimum of ₹5 to come to school in the morning and another ₹5 to go home after the classes. That means he has to shell out ₹10 every day, adding up to almost ₹300 rupees every month. I can get a yearly pass for ₹750 rupees, but that is way too much for my family to spend on sending me to school and I have to make the long walk every day.

Things changed for the better for students like Shivraj, when Reaching Hand recently distributed bus passes to underprivileged students at the KR Puram School.

He says “Reaching Hand has given me a bus pass and it has been very helpful. Cost is no longer an issue and I can easily come to school. It makes me feel motivated to learn.”

Shivraj wants to be an engineer. “When I grow up, I want to be an engineer and I know my school and teachers will help me get there,” he says.

Through initiatives like bus pass distribution, Reaching Hand hopes to continue encouraging students like Shivraj to attend the school and reach those heights.

Author: REACHING HAND

Reaching Hand is a registered Charitable Trust started in 1996 in Bangalore, formed with an aim to work among underprivileged children, vulnerable youths and disadvantaged women. We envision an empowered future for all by acting as a catalyst for social change. We empower children, youth and women through our innovative program focusing on the areas of education, health and skill development so that they lead a life of self-worth, hope and dignity.

Leave a Reply

